Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Wales was amazing, the riding in Wales equally so. It isn’t often I am in a place in Europe that reminds me as much of home as Coed y Brenin, or Wales in general that is. It was a great start to our trip and provided some interesting lessons into getting to know my new bike. Generally I love my new ride, and am very much looking forward to many adventures together. If you are going to ride a rigid bike, especially a single speed then I can WARMLY recommend going for a 29+. The large volume tyres (running at deliciously low pressures) just eat up the rocks, and in Wales there are a LOT of rocks. My only problem/learning point has been getting to know my tyres and running them tubeless. Day one went trouble free and we had a great deal of fun. Day two I started to encounter problems. A hole in the tyre put me back on tubes and sent me from running 0.5 bar to 0.8, just not quite the same. Day three, back tubeless again (not an easy task when you have no air compressor), another hole in the tyre and back to tubes for the remainder of the ride.

We are now in Scotland, have restocked on tubes and I am still trying to figure out the best way to do it all. It is running the low pressure that makes the 29+ setup sooooo much fun, but I need to figure out the best compromise where I can ride without incident and still stay in front of James with his 26″ bike, front suspension and mad skills…

Welcome to England! A motorway supermarket, 12 different types of fruit salad alone...

Welcome to England! A motorway supermarket, 12 different types of fruit salad alone…

Wales!!

Wales!!

More of Wales (I like Wales)

More of Wales (I like Wales)

Riding in Coed y Brenin, Wales.

Riding in Coed y Brenin, Wales.

More...

More…

Day one wasn't entirely trouble free

Day one wasn’t entirely trouble free

Someone has been 'burping' latex…

Someone has been ‘burping’ latex…

End of day one...

End of day one…

Trip to the pub :D

Trip to the pub :D

Ahhhhh….

Ahhhhh….

Welsh hygge (coziness)

Welsh hygge (coziness)

Mmmmmm… Local beer :)

Mmmmmm… Local beer :)

#yourbikehatesyou

#yourbikehatesyou

The trails!!

The trails!!

Gotta love the handiwork :)

Gotta love the handiwork :)

The views!

The views!

One of the more technical climbs…

One of the more technical climbs…

James, James...

James, James…

Kiwi ingenuity :)

Kiwi ingenuity :)

No gluten free today...

No gluten free today…

