Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Everyone who is semi-serious about bikes has probably heard of n+1. It is the formula for working out how many bikes you should own. n being the number of bikes that you currently have. So you get the picture, the collecting never ends. There is also another version of it called n-1, this time n equalling the number of bikes that you can own where it results in your partner leaving you. I think it is a funny way of looking at it, but too often I feel it is used to cover up the materialism that underlies our culture. People use it to laugh off having among their other bikes, six steel race bikes with period components that they have found at garage sales that just need a finishing touch before they are ready to be put on display. That is where I start to distance myself and ask ‘why?’, are you starting a private museum? I am guilty a bit too. I own an undisclosed number of bikes stashed in 3 different countries. I used to look for those bargains that the local paper sometimes coughed up. Not because I needed a mint condition Gios Torino or a Klein Quantum Race but because I saw them as beautiful steeds that I wanted in my stable. Until I started to notice how the bikes I had once lived for riding on, my Cinelli Supercorsa, Santa Cruz Bullit, now collected dust. They weren’t made for display, they were made to be ridden. And so my collecting stopped. I still have a couple of bikes that it is exceptionaly rare for me to ride, but I like to think that I use what I have and I have put n+1 behind me.

Well, that was until not long ago…

Loke got a BMX for christmas and after we got home from New Zealand we finally got a chance to take it out. Now if you ever thought an adults bmx looked small then wait until you see a 16″ one for a 7 year old. They are very cute. We went to the skate park in F√¶lledeparken, the second largest of its kind in Denmark. Part of motivating Loke however involved showing him things. There weren’t any other BMXers to be inspired by so I had to step up. Wow, it was a lot of fun! I kept telling myself ‘you don’t need another bike, you don’t need another bike’ but by the end of two days in the park I could see that it was inevitable. One of the joys (read: dangers) of working in the industry is that it rarely takes long to go from thought to action (complete bike). In This case, text to Travis at BMX Butikken, Sunday night, stop by the shop to talk about it Monday morning, and then this Monday evening

 

And no, it wasn’t a fun ride home with both this and Loke on my singlespeed.

My first day out riding was in this place

 

Port4130. Now I have done a lot of crazy things on bikes but it has been a very long time since I was this scared. There isn’t even a ‘nice’ way to get into this thing. For Andreas and I (the token rookies and evenings entertainment) we had to lower our bikes and slide in.

The rookie corner

The rookie corner

It is extremely intense and demanding riding. A lapse in concentration can cost you dearly and it pays to keep your runs short to avoid confusion. But wow what a feeling!! It is addictive and hard to stay away from, I want to go to the park more now than I do the forest. But for the next couple of weeks I can do neither. The story of how this new addiction lead to me breaking my arm, well that can wait for another day…

